John Cameron, past Chairman of Scotrail and member of British Railways Board.  Owner of mainline steam locomotives designed by Sir Nigel Gresley, A4 No 60009 Union of South Africa, and K4 No 61994 The Great Marquess.

The Gresley Society Trust  is run by the Council.  They are all volunteers and as of March 2017 they are:


Philip Benham.

Another career railwayman who spent many years with British Railways and recently retired Managing Director of The North Yorkshire Moors Railway

Vice Chairman

Post vacant


Christopher Clark.


Stephen Hogg.

Membership Secretary

Chris Nettleton.
Chris is another former bank employee and keen photographer up to the end of steam on British Railways in 1968.  Chris is also the Editor of The Gresley Observer.

Locomotive Manager

David McIntosh Career railwayman and our locomotive manager looking after the N2 locomotive on visits to heritage railways.  Author of four railway books, and operations director of the Main Line Steam Locomotive Operators Association since 1996.

Public Relations Officer & Meetings Secretary

Ian MacCabe  Ian is a retired Research & Development engineer, and is also a keen photographer. He is a representative of the N2 on tour.

Other members of Council

Robin BeynonSales Manager. Had a career in Human Resources.  This included 10 years with railway engineering companies on large infrastructure projects.

Ron Vale  Took early retirement from BT in 1999 to finish his 5in gauge B17 (work still in progess)